In Spring 2016, the Office of the Executive Vice President for Research and Office of the Provost invited tenure-track assistant professors to a series of events focused on strategies for developing a successful NSF CAREER Award proposal.

Hosted by Dean of Engineering Mary Boyce, Dean of Business Glenn Hubbard, and Executive Vice Provost and Dean of Arts and Sciences David Madigan, the event featured a session led by Kathy Takayama, Executive Director of the Center for Teaching and Learning, and a panel of past award recipients and reviewers. Participants were invited to workshop their NSF CAREER proposal drafts at a Round 2 event held at the CTL in June 2016.

For more information about this event, contact Marley Bauce at mb3952@columbia.edu.


NSF CAREER Workshop Agenda
Presentation by Kathy Takayama, Center for Teaching and Learning
Developing a Winning Research Proposal
NSF Broader Impact Checklist
Developing an NSF CAREER Education Plan
NSF Career Award Writing Tips (edited by Z. J. Pei, 2007): Short book with guidance for preparing CAREER proposals.

Contacts and Networks

NSF CAREER Award Outreach Network
Staff Resources for CAREER Proposals

A list of Columbia faculty have won NSF CAREER awards within the past decade, and have agreed to serve as informal mentors for new applicants.

NSF CAREER Proposal Library – Access Request Form 
The Office of Research Initiatives (ORI) has created a library of over 20 winning NSF CAREER proposals from Columbia faculty, and will make one or more proposals available to all Columbia assistant professors who plan to submit to this extramural funding program. To access a winning proposal from your broad disciplinary area, you may complete this Access Request Form.


Browse the photo gallery below or visit our Flickr page.


Speakers included David Madigan, Executive Vice President and Dean of Arts and Sciences; Kathy Takayama, Associate Provost and Executive Director of the Center for Teaching and Learning; Emily Ford, Director of Outreach Programs in the Fu Foundation School of Engineering and Applied Science; Mary Boyce, Dean of the Fu Foundation School of Engineering and Applied Science; and a panel of faculty members including:

Ryan Abernathey, Assistant Professor of Earth and Environmental Sciences
Kartik Chandran, Professor of Earth and Environmental Engineering
Christine Hendon, Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering
Laura Kaufman, Professor of Chemistry
John Cunningham, Assistant Professor of Statistics
Julia Hirschberg, Percy K. and Vida L.W. Hudson Professor and Chair of Computer Science.