Home » About » Senior Faculty Teaching Scholars

Provost’s Senior Faculty Teaching Scholars


What is the Provost’s Senior Faculty Teaching Scholars program?

This Provost’s Senior Faculty Teaching scholars program aims to develop an annual cohort of senior faculty who each have the opportunity to create a vision and plan for supporting, changing and innovating the culture of teaching and learning within their own department or school, and across campus.


The 2020-2021 cohort of Provost’s Senior Faculty Teaching Scholars

How does it work?

In partnership with the Center for Teaching and Learning (CTL), the Provost’s Senior Faculty Teaching Scholars may choose from a range of teaching and learning initiatives including: building community among faculty around teaching through outreach, liaising and hosting events in the CTL, planning and facilitating disciplinary conversation(s), workshop(s) and/or panel(s), or proposing a project that has broad and sustainable impact on teaching and learning at Columbia that goes beyond a single course or curriculum. The CTL works with each Senior Faculty Teaching Fellow to develop a year-long plan that aligns their work in this program with the needs of the Columbia teaching community.

How are faculty nominated for this program?

Deans nominate senior faculty who are both outstanding teachers and well-respected researchers in their disciplines.

Who are the Senior Faculty Teaching Scholars?

See the 2019-2020 cohort and 2020-2021 cohort of Senior Faculty Teaching Scholars.

Reflections on teaching in a pandemic

In May 2020, Senior Faculty Teaching Scholars Rita Charon, Christos Papadimitriou, Susan Sturm, and Susan Witte spoke with Catherine Ross, CTL Executive Director, about their experiences of and advice for teaching online during the Coronavirus pandemic. Watch their reflections in this video.